Stars honoured at WNL awards night

Women’s National League awards

The 2018 Continental Tyres Women’s National League awards took place in Ballsbridge, Dublin last night as the stars of Irish domestic football were honoured for their achievements.

Treble winners Wexford Youths surprisingly only had three representatives named on the Team of the Year, including striker Rianna Jarrett who was named the Player of the Year, while league runners-up Shelbourne only had one and the FAI Cup runners-up Peamount United had four. 

Rianna Jarrett WNL Player of the year Rianna Jarrett Wexford Youths

Jarrett 24 had a superb year, scoring 27 goals as her team almost made it a clean sweep of trophies, only for Peamount United to deny them in the League Cup Final. She missed the final two games of the National league season after breaking a bone in her foot on international duty, only for her to return to the starting line-up for the FAI Cup Final last Sunday at the Aviva Stadium where they beat Peamount.

Golden Boot winner Amber Barrett Peamount United Peamount United’s Amber Barrett

A final day hat-trick by Peamount’s Amber Barrett helped her to claim the Women’s National League Golden Boot, as she clocked up an amazing total of 30 goals, including 7 hat-tricks, for the campaign. Her form this season also saw her called up to the Irish Senior Team by manager Colin Bell, where she scored the winning goal in the 2-1 World Cup Qualifying victory over Slovakia in April. 

The Young Player of the Year award went to UCD Waves goalkeeper Erica Turner. Erica 18, is now firmly established as the clubs Number 1 goalkeeper and is a Republic of Ireland under-19 international.

Shelbourne’s Emily Whelan Emily Whelan Shelbourne

Shelbourne’s Emily Whelan 16, was named the first Under-17 Women’s National League Player of the Year, culminating in their league winning success with victory over Galway. She also featured for the Senior International Team this season, as she made her debut against Poland in October.

The full Continental Tyres Women’s National League Team of the year is;

Erica Turner (UCD Waves)

Seana Cooke (Shelbourne)

Eabha O’Mahoney (Cork City)

Louise Corrigan (Peamount United)

Lauren Dwyer (Wexford Youths)

Kylie Murphy (Wexford Youths)

Aislinn Meaney (Galway WFC) 

Niamh Farrelly (Peamount United)

Amber Barrett (Peamount United)

Rianna Jarrett (Wexford Youths)

Megan Lynch (Peamount United)

Picture Credit: FAI

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: